Jump to Header Jump to Main Content Jump to Footer

Student Achievement

Home > Blog > Student Achievement

James Bryce, a senior in civil engineering, is one of 12 students nationwide to be selected for the Washington Internships for Students of Engineering (WISE) program this summer. The program introduces students to the impact they might have on public policy as professional engineers. Bryce wrote to faculty mentor Professor John Bowders from Washington saying, “The experience of working in DC has been great. I have made contacts throughout the federal system, was asked to stand during a packed house hearing—Rep. Carnahan first thanked the student in attendance (me) saying, ‘the future of technology is at hand,’ as well as recognizing me as a fellow Missouri alumnus—and realized the potential far-reaching effects that research on green infrastructure will have in the near future.”

Kathy Masterson, a graduate student in civil engineering, was selected as one of the nation’s top graduate students in transportation to attend the 16th annual Eno Leadership Development Conference. Held in mid-May, the conference gave participants a first-hand look at how national transportation policies are developed.

Dan Tappmeyer, a junior in chemical engineering, and Kevin Karsch, a junior in mathematics and computer science, were awarded scholarships from the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program for the 2008-09 academic year. Established by Congress in 1996, the program’s purpose is to provide our country with a source of qualified scientists, mathematicians, and engineers.

Katie Kuster, a junior in industrial engineering, and Jeffrey Spencer, a junior in electrical engineering, were among 145 students nationally selected as Tau Beta Pi Scholars to receive scholarships from the national engineering honor society for the 2008-09 academic year. Scholars must be members of Tau Beta Pi. Competitive selection criteria include high scholarship, campus leadership, service, and promise of future contributions to the engineering profession.

Wei Liu, Adam Proctor, Peng Zhuang, Qiuming Yao, and Smuan Deb Roy, computer science graduate students, were awarded Gilliom Fellowships for the 2008-09 academic year by the Center for Cybersecurity’s Gilliom fellowship/scholarship evaluation committee. Ian Graves, a senior in computer science was awarded a scholarship from the Gilliom Fund.

Justin C. Myers, a junior with a double major in journalism and electrical engineering, was awarded a first-ever student journalist scholarship from the Maneater, MU’s 53-year-old student newspaper.

Anna McLaughlin, a senior in industrial and manufacturing systems engineering, is the recipient of the 2008 Hesburgh Award, funded by the TIAA-CREF Hesburgh Endowment Fund, through MU’s General Education Program.

Siddharth Sharma, a May 2008 master’s graduate in civil and environmental engineering, won the 2008 Institute of Transportation Engineers Midwestern District Dan Fambro Award for best student paper. His paper, titled “Development of a Large-Scale Traffic Simulation Model for Hurricane Evacuation—A Case Study of Virginia’s Hampton Roads Region,” resulted from his thesis research. ITE’s Midwestern District covers 11 states.

Tim Havens, a doctoral candidate in electrical and computer engineering, appears in the May 2008 issue of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Computational Intelligence magazine as the first subject of a new feature titled “Focus on Students.” In the feature, Havens offers advice to new engineering students, saying, “It is vitally important to have passion for your work and this passion will make everything much easier—successes, failures, and everything in between.

Back to Top

Enter your keyword