Jump to Header Jump to Main Content Jump to Footer

Alumni Notes

Home > Blog > Alumni Notes

Alumni Notes

Share your news with fellow alumni. Use the form on the inside back cover and mail it in the inserted envelope.


James E. “Bud” Moulder, BS CiE ’53, MS CiE ’55, of Columbia, Mo., was inducted in the Missouri Society of Professional Engineers Hall of Fame on June 24 at the society’s 73rd annual banquet. Moulder is a lifetime member of the Mizzou Alumni Association and has made significant contributions to the association. He has been knighted by St. Patrick and has received Mizzou Engineering’s highest achievement awards, the Citation of Merit and Missouri Honor Awards. The MU Alumni Association recently awarded him the Alumni Legacy Award. The American Society of Civil Engineers named him a Fellow in 1991. In December 2009, the College of Engineering announced the creation of the James E. “Bud” Moulder award, in appreciation for his service to the college.

Cas Welch, BS EE ’58, of Pittsburgh, Pa., was named a Fellow in the American Society for Quality. He reports that he also was recently blessed with his tenth grandchild.


Walt Storrs, BS ME ’66, of Troy, Mich., was elected president of the greater Detroit chapter of the Association for the U.S. Army for a two-year term.

Ward Chambers, BS EE ’67, of Treynor, Iowa, was inducted into the Ak-Sar-Ben Foundation Court of Honor Oct. 9 at the Qwest Center in Omaha, Neb. He was recognized for his excellence in the area of professions. Chambers, a cardiologist, directs the international health and medical efforts for the University of Nebraska Medical Center and works with Kabul Medical University on an educational partnership for students and faculty. He serves as chairman of the board of directors for the College of Engineering Foundation and was the recipient of a 2010 College of Engineering Missouri Honor Award for excellence in engineering.


Tom Ratzki, MS CiE ’81, of Ballwin, Mo., was elected to the Missouri board of directors for the American Council of Engineering Companies. Ratzki is a regional manager for Black and Veatch.

Linda (Vahrenhorst) Moen, BS CiE ’84, of Florissant, Mo., was elected to the Missouri board of directors for the American Council of Engineering Companies. Moen is president of EFK Moen, LLC, a civil engineering design firm.

Kent Bredehoeft, BS MAE ’89, of Overland Park, Kan., was named president of Argus Consulting Inc. in June. The firm is located in Blue Springs, Mo.


Terry Royer, BS MAE ’92, has been named CEO of Winergy Drive Systems Corporation, a partner of Siemens Drive Technologies, in Elgin, Ill.


Bryan Bewick, BS CEE ’02, MS CEE ’04, of Lynn Haven, Fla., reports that he received his doctorate in civil engineering in May 2010.

Steven Schilke, BS CEE ’02, of Algonquin, Ill., was named 2010 Young Government Civil Engineer of the Year by the Illinois Section of the American Society of Civil Engineers. Awards were presented at the Union League Club in Chicago. Schilke is the consultant studies unit head for the Illinois Division of Highways, Region 1, District 1.

James (B.J.) Dyck, BS MAE ’05, of Lafayette, La, was the Best Paper award winner from the ASME Turbo Expo, presented in June 2010 in Glasgow, Scotland. The paper is titled, “The Numerical and Experimental Characteristics of Multi-Mode Dry-Friction Whip and Whirl.” Dyck received his master’s degree in 2007 and works as a facilities engineer for Chevron North America. He married in 2009, and his wife, Kristen, is a physical therapist.

Jeff Spencer, BS EE ’09, is pursuing a doctorate in electrical/neural engineering at the University of Melbourne. He is working with adaptive control theory and biology to better understand the design adaptive control systems, working toward a university initiative to develop a bionic eye.


Tom Spencer, BS EE ’10, is attending Harvard Law School with a focus on intellectual property law.



Sidney R. Morrow, BS ME ’45, of Norwich, Vt., died April 11, 2010. He is survived by his wife, Shirley.

Joseph Kendrick “Ken” Cowdery, BS ME ’48, of Mansfield, Mo., died Sept. 24, 2010. His studies at MU were interrupted by his service in the U.S. Army in WWII. He was stationed in Hawaii during the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor, and eventually became a Second Lieutenant and participated in the liberation of the Philippines. After completing his degree, Cowdery went to work for Westinghouse Electric Co., retiring in 1989 after spending his entire career there.


James Frederick Haring, MS ChE ’50, of Houston, Texas, died Aug. 24, 2010. A WWII veteran, Haring was a member of the Knights of Columbus and a volunteer firefighter who enjoyed golfing and gardening. His wife of 60 years, Evelyn, and five daughters survives him.

Charles F. McLean III, BS ME ’57, of Portland, Ore., died July 6, 2009. He is survived by his wife, Mary.

William James Lally, BS ME ’58 of Melbourne, Fla., died Dec. 7, 2009. He was a retired manufacturing engineer from Polaroid Corporation. He is survived by his wife, Nancy.


Perry Conrad Fairfax, BS CiE ’63, of Tuscaloosa, Ala., died Feb. 14, 2010. He was a member of Phi Gamma Delta and a lieutenant in the Navy. He moved to Ste. Genevieve, Mo., to work at the Mississippi Lime Company. His sister, Laura Fairfax, established a scholarship in his memory. Starting in 2011, the $500 Perry Conrad Fairfax Athletic Academic Scholarship for the University of Missouri engineering department will go to a Sedalia Smith-Cotton High School football player — Fairfax’s alma mater — committed to studying engineering at Mizzou.

Shawn Shahrokh Mokhtari, MS CiE ’68, Ph.D. CiE ’71, of San Clemente, Calif., died March 20, 2010. After completing his doctorate, he joined the Tehran Polytechnic Institute and served as chair of the Civil Engineering Department. He also co-founded an engineering consulting firm in Iran. He is survived by his wife of 43 years, Suzy, and two sons.

Back to Top

Enter your keyword