Our Blog

Two men shake hands.

College of Engineering Dean Jim Thompson congratulates C.W. La Pierre Professor Hongbin “Bill” Ma with a plaque recognizing his achievements as the 2013 outstanding senior faculty researcher.

A highlight of the MU College of Engineering’s annual Engineers’ Week celebration in March is the Missouri Honor Awards banquet. In addition to honoring some of the college’s most distinguished alumni and friends, outstanding faculty, staff and students are recognized. In 2013, one of the Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Department’s faculty members received recognition and six students from the department were honored for their achievements.

C.W. La Pierre Professor Hongbin “Bill” Ma, received the college’s senior faculty research award. Ma is an internationally recognized expert in heat transfer through heat-pipe devices. His research includes heat transfer behavior at the micro- and nano-scale as well as phase-change heat transfer thermal management and ejector refrigeration. He serves as the director of the Research Consortium for Innovative Solutions of Thermal Management (ISoTherM) within the College of Engineering.

A mix of industry and government sources including Intel, Exxon-Mobile, the Office of Naval Research, the Leonard Wood Institute, the National Institutes of Health,  National Science Foundation, DARPA and Northrup Grumman have funded Ma’s research.

Named a fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (AMSE), Ma has published more than 110 journal articles, 32 of which appeared in top-tier peer-reviewed journals in the past two years alone. He is an associate editor of ASME Journal of Thermal Science and Engineering Applications, associate editor of Heat Transfer Research and serves on the editorial board of Frontiers in Heat Pipes.

Ma mentors five doctoral students, four master’s students and four undergraduate researchers. He also is a recipient of a teaching award from graduating mechanical and aerospace engineering seniors.

Seven men pose for a group photo.

College of Engineering Dean Jim Thompson and Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Department Professor Craig Kluever pose with four of the five outstanding MAE department students honored at the 2013 Missouri Honor Awards banquet. Pictured, from left, are Thompson; outstanding senior Alex Madinger; outstanding senior Cody Allard; outstanding junior Kyle Webb; outstanding master’s student Hao Peng; outstanding doctoral student Christopher Smoot; and Kluever. Not pictured: Outstanding senior Nathan Park.

Kyle Webb of Edwardsville, Ill., was named the department’s outstanding junior. Web spent the summer interning for Burns & McDonnell in Kansas City, and currently is working as an engineering tutor. He is president of Tau Beta Pi and a member of Pi Tau Sigma.

MAE recognized three students as outstanding seniors at the March award ceremony.

Nathan Park of Lee’s Summit, Mo., is a fifth-year senior and serves as one of head mechanical engineers on the Mizzou hydrogen car team, Tigergen. He was last year’s vice president of MU’s American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) rocket team and a member of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) and the 3D Printing Club. “Get involved in student teams,” Parks advised engineering students. “It gives you something to talk about in your interviews for jobs.”

Alex Madinger of Chesterfield, Mo., graduated cum laude. A Bright Flight Scholarship recipient, Madinger served as secretary of ASME, and held the same position with the MU chapter of Engineers Without Borders. He is a member of Pi Tau Sigma and belongs to the Golden Key International Honour Society. In his senior year, Madinger co-founded the MU 3D Printing Club and served as its president.

Cody Allard of Blue Springs, Mo. — a senior who is taking a semester off from school to help his father build a house in Norman, Okla. — will graduate summa cum laude in December after he finishes his honors undergraduate research thesis. A physics-MAE double major, he plans to return to Mizzou in the spring to start a master’s in mechanical engineering with an emphasis on system dynamics and control. Allard served as the activities coordinator for Pi Tau Sigma and also belonged to Tau Beta Pi. He participated in undergraduate research and as a tutor for the Physics Department, received the Zelenak Excellence in Tutoring Award.

Hao Peng of Wuhan, in the Hubei Province of China, received the outstanding master’s student award. Peng works in the lab of Professor Frank Pai.

Christopher Smoot of Hannibal, Mo., received the outstanding doctoral student award. Smoot is working in the lab of Professor Bill Ma.

Enter your keyword