Jump to Header Jump to Main Content Jump to Footer

What’s new with ECE student organizations?

Home > Blog > What’s new with ECE student organizations?

What’s new with ECE student organizations?

Eta Kappa Nu

ECE’s honor society Eta Kappa Nu (HKN) inducted 11 new members last spring and nine new members this fall. With new faculty adviser Robert O’Connell taking over for Scott Kovaleski, who became the department’s interim chairman last January.

The group’s semester community service project was a stream clean-up; last spring, HRN honored ECE Instructor Jim Fischer, with its Professor of the Year award; and the group also will continue to offer circuit theory tutoring services every week.

HKN officers for 2013-2014: Trent Todd, president; Jason Barmann, vice president; Angelique Taylor, treasurer; Kevin Connor, recording secretary; Tyler Hahn, corresponding secretary; Teddy Menke and Jaime Germer, college liaisons.


The Mizzou chapter of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers is organizing a team that the group hopes will perform well at the 2014 IEEE Region 5 Robotics Competition.  As a group, they also have hosted speakers from Boeing and Ameren at recent monthly meetings.

Officers for 2013-2014: Alex Paino, president; Trever Hassebroek, vice president; Blake Lewis, treasurer; Kevin Connor, secretary; Tyler Hann, activities chair; Anthony Postiglione, social chair; Thomas Nabelek, publicity chair; Felix Cooley, web chair; Jesse Steuer, T-shirt chair.


The second year for MU Engineering’s hydrogen powered car, Tigergen III, finished ahead of where it was last year at the 2103 Shell Eco-Marathon in Houston, Texas. Electrical problems and the Texas heat previously plagued the team precluding them from finishing a qualifying run in its category in 2012. The team not only completed two qualifying runs earlier this year — placing third in its category — but also netted a $5,000 prize for an infographic that a new competition category in the competition.

Naadaa Zakiyyan, who was an electrical engineering freshman last year, designed the infographic and was in attendance in Houston to accept the award with last year’s team president, Sean Conway.

Along with a new set of officers, the team is also looking into adding a new player to its lineup — an electric battery car, tentatively titled the “Batt-Cat” — which will compete in a different category at the Shell Eco-Marathon.

Officers for 2013-2014: Marcus Friedrich, president; Erik Morris, head mechanical engineer; Tanner Greer, head chemical; Naasa Fikri, head electrical; Branden Cambron and Shane Floyd, co-project managers; Malek Gentry, secretary; Markell Hayes, treasurer; Grayson Cooper, head of sponsor relations; Amber Honig, head of public relations.

Back to Top

Enter your keyword