Jump to Header Jump to Main Content Jump to Footer

Dean Loboa announces four leadership appointments

Home > Blog > Dean Loboa announces four leadership appointments

Elizabeth Loboa, the dean of the College of Engineering, recently announced the appointment of three faculty members to new leadership positions — Sheila Grant, Hani Salim and Cerry Klein. Associate Dean Steve Devlin also will continue in his role. The dean’s statement read as follows:

“As we continue to move forward with strategic planning for the college, it is critically important that we create an infrastructure that can effectively carry out the goals and objectives established to move the College of Engineering forward. To support this effort, I am pleased to announce that the following individuals have been appointed to leadership positions within the college:

Sheila Grant mugshot

Sheila Grant

Sheila Grant – Associate Dean of Research
Professor, Bioengineering
Sheila Grant has a PhD in materials engineering from Iowa State University.  After graduation, she worked four years at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory in Livermore, CA and in 2001, Dr. Grant became a faculty member in the Department of Bioengineering (BE) at MU. Currently, Dr. Grant is Director of Graduate Studies and the Co-Associate Director of the Center for Nano/Micro Systems and Nanotechnology.  She has been supported by the NSF, NIH, U.S. Army Research Laboratory, NTEC, and USDA as well as private companies. She has published over 87 papers.  She serves on NSF and NIH panel reviews and is currently the Chairman of the NIH BST-10 panel.  She is also co-founder and CTO of EternoGen, LLC, a biomaterials company that currently employs 14 people.

In addition to Dr. Grant’s outstanding research and entrepreneurship accomplishments, she has also received numerous research, education and mentorship awards. I believe her success as both a collaborative researcher and respected teacher/mentor will enable her to advance our research mission by pulling together interdisciplinary teams to pursue large, collaborative awards.

Hani Salim portrait

Hani Salim

Hani Salim – Associate Dean of Academic Programs
Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Since joining MU in 1997, Dr. Salim has been passionate and committed to the education of our engineering students. He has provided exceptional contributions to our students, the college, and the university, which demonstrate his great dedication to this institution. He is the recipient of several teaching awards and recognitions, including receiving the Certificate of Appreciation as an Outstanding Teacher from the Graduating Seniors of the College of Engineering 17 times. Four of the awards he received are prestigious teaching awards: Outstanding Teacher in the College of Engineering, MU Award for Excellence in Teaching, College of Engineering Excellence in Teaching Award (twice), and the Kemper Teaching Fellowship Award. Dr. Salim’s incredible success in the area of academics and teaching uniquely qualify him for this leadership role.

Dr. Salim will oversee curricular development and collaboration, ABET accreditation and oversight, graduate student quantity and quality, student and faculty academic related matters, as well as participate in mid-career mentoring and new faculty orientation and development.

Cerry Klein mugshot

Cerry Klein

Cerry Klein – Planning and Operations Facilitator
Professor, Industrial & Manufacturing Systems Engineering
Dr. Klein has a PhD in Industrial Engineering from Purdue University and has held numerous leadership positions during his tenure at MU. He currently has an appointment in the Provost’s Office, leading an initiative on Sustainable Energy in the Mizzou Advantage Program. He is also past chair of the Department of Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering and past Program Director for the Service Enterprise Systems program and the Manufacturing Enterprise Systems program at the National Science Foundation.

Dr. Klein is a recipient of the notable William T. Kemper Fellowship for Teaching Excellence, as well as numerous other excellence in teaching awards. Dr. Klein has also received the Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award. Dr. Klein’s research areas include health care, energy systems and logistics, entrepreneurship, nonlinear and linear integer programming, dynamic programming, network optimization, multi-criteria and multi-attribute decision making, and scheduling.  He has received as a PI or Co-PI funding from several notable industrial and government institutions including the National Science Foundation, the Office of Naval Research, Department of Health and Human Services, The Kauffman Foundation, Boeing, Ameren, Missouri Department of Transportation, and many others.  Dr. Klein is a Fellow of the Institute of Industrial Engineers, a senior member of the Institute for Operations Research and Management Science, the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics, Alpha Pi Mu, and Pi Mu Epsilon.

Dr. Klein will oversee planning and operation initiatives including initiating general policy and procedure efforts with the EPC as well as oversee space policy, planning and implementation. Dr. Klein’s experience in systems and operations make him the perfect candidate to lead the College’s efforts in planning and operations.

Steve Devlin mugshot

Steve Devlin

Steve Devlin – Assistant Dean of Industrial Relations and Entrepreneurship
Steve has been serving as Assistant Dean since 2013 and will remain in this role. Steve will lead the charge in furthering the college’s relationship with industry and establishing corporate partnerships, as well as work to translate the amazing work we are doing at the College of Engineering to outside constituents. He will continue to assist faculty in engaging industry to bring products to commercialization.

Drs. Grant, Salim and Klein will officially begin their roles December 1, 2015. These are not full-time administrative roles. I believe it is important for each and every one of these individuals to remain active in their research and teaching and to be present in their departments.

Thank you and please congratulate and welcome this new leadership team!”

Back to Top

Enter your keyword