Our Blog

Story by the Office of Undergraduate Studies

The University of Missouri is one of 12 universities to receive a grant from the Association of American Universities (AAU) to further existing efforts to improve undergraduate education in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) disciplines.

The $20,000 mini-grant will support faculty learning communities, departmental workshops, a symposium on STEM education reform and visits with experts in STEM reform. Johannes Schul and Sarah Bush, both professors with MU’s Division of Biological Sciences, are leading the new project. Three College of Engineering faculty will join Schul and Bush on the leadership team: Craig Kluever (Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering), James Noble (Industrial & Manufacturing Systems Engineering) and Robert O’Connell (Electrical Engineering).

Among the objectives of the project are to:

  • organize the faculty across campus who are already involved in STEM education reform efforts to create an active, interactive and visible community.
  • develop faculty expertise as a resource for STEM education reform across campus, by training, encouraging and supporting additional STEM and Education faculty in active curriculum reform.
  • generate general awareness of the need for systematic STEM education reform on campus, as well as the ongoing efforts to accomplish it.

Enter your keyword