Mizzou Engineering alumni duo earns prestigious campus awards

Three well-dressed people stand in front of a photo of Mizzou's Columns.

Jim Fitterling, Dean Elizabeth Loboa and Elsa Hennings celebrated Fitterling and Hennings’ selection as Faculty-Alumni Awards recipients.

The 2018 Mizzou Alumni Association Faculty-Alumni Awards Banquet was held Nov. 9 at the Reynolds Alumni Center. College of Engineering alumni Jim Fitterling (BS ME ’83) and Elsa Hennings (BS ME ’82) earned Alumni Awards.

The Faculty-Alumni Awards started in 1968 as a way to recognize the achievements of faculty and alumni. Faculty are considered for their work as teachers, administrators and researchers. Alumni are considered for their professional accomplishments and service to Mizzou.

Fitterling currently is chief executive officer of The Dow Chemical Company and chief operating officer of the Materials Science Division of DowDuPont, which is comprised of The Dow Chemical Company and DuPont and is focused on publicly traded companies in agriculture, materials science and specialty product sectors. During his 34-year career, he has held leadership positions in plastics and hydrocarbons, corporate development and business operations, and headed Dow’s successful launch of its next-generation sustainability goals. Fitterling is a passionate advocate for diversity and inclusion and leads Dow’s drive to diversify its global talent. He is executive sponsor of Dow’s African American Network and is widely recognized for his work supporting LGBT non-discrimination and LGBT+ workplace equality.

Hennings currently serves as a senior systems engineer at the Naval Air Warfare Center in California and has received 11 patents for her technical innovations. She is one of two parachute experts requested to consult on programs of national interest. In her 35-year career with the Navy, she has designed parachutes for payloads ranging from tiny micro-munitions to large supersonic targets, and bailout systems for Navy aircrew and space shuttle astronauts. In 2015, she was selected by her peers as one of only 11 individuals to receive the highest level of recognition as the first female Naval Air Systems Command Esteemed Fellow among the 6000 engineers and scientists within the organization.

Enter your keyword