BBCE Academy honors distinguished alumni

November 06, 2019

BBCE Academy awards

BBCE professor Patrick Pinhero, Honorary Member Paul Chan, and student Aaron Field at the Academy’s induction ceremony Oct. 19.

The Department of Biomedical, Biological & Chemical Engineering held its Academy of Distinguished Alumni induction ceremony Oct. 19 to honor chemical engineering graduates from the University of Missouri who are outstanding in their field, leaders in community affairs and worthy of emulation. The first banquet recognizing academy members was held in October 2013, and annual meetings have been held since. This year’s Chemical Engineering Academy of Distinguished Alumni inductees included:

  • David Cockrill, BS ’85
  • Alan Hawxby, BS ’91
  • Allan Kressig, BS 86

Two other chemical engineering graduates who have been elected but were unable to attend this year’s induction ceremony will be inducted in the fall 2020:

  • Doug Distelrath, BS ‘87
  • Robert “Bob” Schreiber, Jr., BS ‘72

The Academy of Distinguished Alumni also recognized Honorary Member Paul Chan, BS ’73, whose entire 39-year academic career has been with the University of Missouri. Prof. Chan retired in 2015 but has continued to work for the College part-time, serving one year as interim chair and then as chancellor’s professor. He is teaching his last course in Advanced Transport this semester, or as his students call it, “Chan-sport.”  Chan also is a recipient of the prestigious William T. Kemper Fellowship for Teaching Excellence.