Jump to Header Jump to Main Content Jump to Footer

James E. “Bud” Moulder Distinguished Alumni Award

James E. "Bud" Moulder

James E. “Bud” Moulder

The MU College of Engineering seeks to recognize individuals and/or entities who distinguish themselves in service to the college. The extraordinary activities of these individuals/entities will be consistent with the mission of the college to educate engineers, create leaders and develop entrepreneurs in a research and interdisciplinary environment.

The award is named after 1953 civil engineering alumnus and longtime college supporter James E. “Bud” Moulder (1922-2014).


  • Exceptional efforts (service) by an individual or an organization to assist the College of Engineering in fulfilling its mission of educating engineers, creating leaders and developing entrepreneurs in a research and interdisciplinary environment.
  • Exceptional ability in the planning and direction of significant and important projects consistent with the mission of the College of Engineering.
  • Exceptional contributions by an individual or an organization through its resources, i.e., time commitments, professional expertise, financial support, etc.

How to nominate

  • Nominations are accepted from any MU Engineering alumnus.
  • A call for nominations is made in late summer / early fall with a winter deadline.
  • Incomplete nominations will not be eligible for consideration.
  • Nominations should be submitted by November 2, 2020
  • When applicable, prior nominations made during the past two years may be considered.

To receive consideration, nomination(s) must include:

  • A completed nomination form
  • A personal letter of endorsement from the nominator
  • At least two letters of support from colleagues/peers

Click here for 2021 Nomination Form.

Send questions and nomination forms to: umcengrdev@missouri.edu

MU College of Engineering, Advancement Office
Thomas and Nell Lafferre Hall
Columbia, MO 65211-2200

  • 2010 – David H. Lillard
  • 2011 – David S. Haffner
  • 2012 – Donald L. Flora
  • 2013 – Walt Vandelicht
  • 2014 – Tony Bonderer
  • 2015 – Larry W. Frevert
  • 2016/2017 – Ronald Wood
  • 2018 – Ward Chambers
  • 2019 – Jerry L. Jost
  • 2020 (to be honored at the 2021 Banquet) – Bob Bloss
Back to Top

Enter your keyword