About - Mizzou Engineering

Mission Statement

The mission of the Missouri Water Resources Research Center (MOWRRC) is to serve the State of Missouri and the nation through innovative research on water as and environmental sustainability issues, problem-based education for students, and service to the state and the communities.

The Missouri Water Resources Research Center’s objectives are:

  • to establish active research programs to aid in understanding and solving Missouri’s and the Nation’s water problems,
  • to provide education opportunities in research for students with an interest in water resources and related fields, and
  • to be actively dedicated to the dissemination of information through all aspects of the media.

This mission is consistent in general with the authorization of the Water Resources Research Act of 1984, as amended, (42USC1031 et seq.).

The Center mobilizes the best faculty expertise in the state to examine specific water resources problems. The Center and its advisory committee are familiar with Missouri’s research needs and current projects. They help researchers avoid duplicate efforts, while serving as a link between the research community and potential users of research results such as industries, planning commissions, and state agencies. Missouri’s economy revolves around its water resources; therefore, the Center works closely with the state in addressing their problems by providing research data, which are necessary in order to solve present and future water problems.

Advisory Committee

The MOWRRC Advisory Committee consists of representatives from the following:

  • United State Geological Survey (USGS) District Office
  • Department of Natural Resources
  • Environmental Dynamics International
  • University of Missouri – College of Agriculture, Food, and Natural Resources (CAFNR)
  • University of Missouri Extension
  • Department of Conservation
  • United States Department of Agriculture-Natural Resources Conservation Service (USDA-NRCS)
  • Missouri University of Science & Technology
  • Missouri State
  • University of Missouri – St. Louis
  • University of Missouri – Kansas City


  • University of Missouri
  • Missouri University of Science & Technology
  • Missouri State University
  • University of Alaska Southeast
  • University of Illinois
  • Western Kentucky University
  • Mississippi State University
  • University of Montana
  • University of New Hampshire
  • Pennsylvania State University

State Agencies

  • Department of Natural Resources
  • Missouri Department of Economic Development
  • Department of Conservation
  • Federal Agencies
  • USGS/U.S. Department of Interior
  • Environmental Protection Agency
  • Department of Commerce
  • Department of Energy

Local Agencies

Cities of:

  • Boonville
  • Columbia
  • Marceline
  • Marshfield
  • Monroe City
  • Trenton

Private Organizations

  • BioMicrobics
  • CST
  • Environmental Dynamics, Inc.
  • International Heat Pump Association
  • John Deere
  • Leggett & Platt
  • Leonardwood Institute
  • Sprayroc
Contact Information

Baolin Deng, Director

Karen Turner, Program Coordinator

E2509 Lafferre Hall