EECS Industrial Advisory Board holds virtual meeting

January 06, 2022

Syed Kamrul Islam

Chair of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Syed Kamrul Islam

The Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Industrial Advisory Board received an update on the department in a virtual meeting, held on Dec. 7.

Syed Kamrul Islam, professor and chair of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, addressed the board on updates over the past year, including research expenditure, enrollment, and degree updates.

EECS totaled a research expenditure of $13.678 million for calendar year, an increase over the previous year, and fall 2021 undergraduate and graduate student enrollment increased within in the department from the spring semester.

Also discussed were new graduate certificate programs in AI and Machine Learning, Data Analytics Engineering and Neural Engineering-Signals, Systems and Machine Learning an undergraduate certificates in Neural Engineering-Signals and Neural Engineering-Systems. The department also started an accelerated BS to MS program in computer science, computer engineering and electrical engineering, which allows students to earn both a bachelor’s and master’s in five years.

Islam recognized faculty and students who earned honors during year. Both Professor and Robert H. Buescher Faculty Fellow Marjorie Skubic and Shumaker Endowed Professor Dong Xu were named 2021 Curators’ Distinguished Professors, the highest honor bestowed on faculty within the University of Missouri System. On a student level, Omiya Hassan was one of three global recipients of an IEEE IMS Graduate Fellowship and PhD student Roland Oruche earned a GEM Associate Fellow.

“I appreciate all the input we can get from the IAB,” Islam said. “The board can provide tremendous insight into what industries are doing and what type of engineers we should be producing for the job market.”

Comprised of industry professionals, the EECS Industrial Advisory Board provides feedback and recommendations for the department with input.

After the department overview from Islam, Professor, Robert H. Buescher Faculty Fellow and Director of Graduate Studies Yi Shang and Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies Justin Legarsky gave updates on the graduate and undergraduate programs.

Additionally, the board heard updates from the College of Engineering’s advancement, student recruitment and retention and career services offices.

IAB members had the opportunity to review student capstone presentations and offer feedback to the projects.

The IAB will reconvene for an in-person meeting in May 2022.

Members of the EECS Industrial Advisory Board who attended the virtual meeting include:

  • Tyler Blank
  • James Devaney
  • Greg Domer
  • Matt Glover
  • Eric Haslag
  • Joshua Holland
  • Brett Huhman
  • Andrew Klaasmeyer
  • Udaya Kumar
  • Maurice Noellsch
  • Angela Pionke
  • Jeremey Pionke
  • Mike Ryan

Learn more about the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at Mizzou.