James E. “Bud” Moulder Distinguished Alumni Award

James E. "Bud" Moulder

James E. “Bud” Moulder

The MU College of Engineering seeks to recognize individuals and/or entities who distinguish themselves in service to the college. The extraordinary activities of these individuals/entities will be consistent with the mission of the college to educate engineers, create leaders and develop entrepreneurs in a research and interdisciplinary environment.

The award is named after 1953 civil engineering alumnus and longtime college supporter James E. “Bud” Moulder (1926-2014).


  • Exceptional efforts (service) by an individual or an organization to assist the College of Engineering in fulfilling its mission of educating engineers, creating leaders and developing entrepreneurs in a research and interdisciplinary environment.
  • Exceptional ability in the planning and direction of significant and important projects consistent with the mission of the College of Engineering.
  • Exceptional contributions by an individual or an organization through its resources, i.e., time commitments, professional expertise, financial support, etc.

How to nominate

  • Submit the online nomination form
  • Nominations are accepted from any MU Engineering alumnus
  • A call for nominations is made in late summer / early fall with a winter deadline.
  • Incomplete nominations will not be eligible for consideration.
  • When applicable, prior nominations made during the past two years may be considered.
  • Contact umcengrdev@missouri.edu with questions or for more information

To receive consideration, nomination(s) must include:

  • A completed nomination form
  • A personal letter of endorsement from the nominator
  • At least two letters of support from colleagues/peers

Past Recipients

  • 2010 – David H. Lillard
  • 2011 – David S. Haffner
  • 2012 – Donald L. Flora
  • 2013 – Walt Vandelicht
  • 2014 – Tony Bonderer
  • 2015 – Larry W. Frevert
  • 2016/2017 – Ronald Wood
  • 2018 – Ward Chambers
  • 2019 – Jerry L. Jost
  • 2020 – Bob Bloss
  • 2021 – Lawson Hart
  • 2022 – Bob Thumser
  • 2023 – Karen Hamilton
  • 2024 – Donald F. Baker and Jeff Haferkamp