Shubhra Gangopadhyay

Shubhra Gangopadhyay

Shubhra Gangopadhyay, Cramer W. LaPierre Endowed Chair

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Shubhra Gangopadhyay


Shubhra Gangopadhyay is the Cramer W. LaPierre Endowed Chair in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at the University of Missouri and is the co-director of the MU International Center for Nano/Micro Systems and Nanotechnology, which researches and develops miniaturized systems and nanomaterials. Her research has been funded by the National Science Foundation, the U.S. Army and the National Institutes of Health. A Fellow of the American Physical Society, Gangopadhyay received the 2002 Achievement Rewards for College Scientists Scientist of the Year Award at Texas Tech University. In 2008, she was a Nano 50 award recipient for the invention of nanoengineered thermites and applications. In 2004, Gangopadhyay co-founded a company, Nems/Mems, with a vision to develop novel products in the area of nanotechnology.


PhD from the Indian Institute of Technology
MS from Jabalpur University
BS from Jabalpur University

Technical Focus

Nanomaterial processing using top down and bottom up (self-assembly) approaches
Nanoengineered energetic materials and their integration with MEMS for various applications
Bio-micro and nano electro-mechanical systems (Bio MEMS/NEMS)

Enter your keyword