EECS department recognizes outstanding faculty, students

May 24, 2023

The Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) recognized outstanding faculty and students at a first-of-its kind awards ceremony earlier this month.

“These awards celebrate faculty for teaching and research and our students for their hard work and efforts throughout the year,” department Chair Kamrul Islam said. “We’re excited to have launched this new celebration and look forward to continuing it for years to come.”

EECS faculty recognized this year were:

  • Junior Excellence in Teaching
Ekincan Ufuktepe

Ekincan Ufuktepe, assistant teaching professor

  • Senior Excellence in Teaching
Michael Jurczyk

Michael Jurczyk, associate professor

  • Senior Excellence in Teaching and Mentoring
Yi Shang portrait

Yi Shang, professor and director of graduate studies

Portrait of Praveen Rao

Praveen Rao, associate professor

  • Junior Excellence in Research
Filiz Bunyak Ersoy

Filiz Bunyak, assistant professor

Khaza Anuarul Hoque portrait

Khaza Anuarul Hoque, assistant professor

  • Senior Excellence in Research
Prasad Calyam

Prasad Calyam, professor

EECS students recognized were:

  • Outstanding Junior

Ryan Huynh
Sam Spell

  • Outstanding Senior

Anne Watson
Stuart Aldrich

  • Outstanding Master’s

Duy Tung Nguyen
Olivia Laval
Durbek Gafurov

  • Outstanding Ph.D.

Nguyen Nguyen
Roshan Neupane
Shivika Prasanna
Gani Rahmon
Wenbo Wang
Elliott Leinauer
Md. Maruf Shuvo

Learn more about electrical engineering and computer science at Mizzou.