Portrait: Matthias Young

Young Honored with Top Investigator Award

Matthias Young, assistant professor in biomedical, biological and chemical engineering, received the prestigious 2020 Paul H. Holloway Young Investigator Award from the American Vacuum Society (AVS) Thin Film Division.


Ma Elected National Academy of Inventors Fellow

Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Professor Hongbin “Bill” Ma was elected to the level of Fellow by the National Academy of Inventors (NAI). This is the top professional designation for academic inventors worldwide. “I am very excited about being named a Fellow,”…

Portrait: Brandon Lee

Lee Wins Outstanding Poster Award at American Physical Society Annual Meeting

A Mizzou Engineering senior majoring in both chemical engineering and physics received an Outstanding Poster Award during the virtual American Physical Society’s (APS) Division of Plasma Physics 62nd Annual Meeting in November 2020. “The ‘perfect energy source’ is not within our grasp yet, but we are getting closer by the day.”

IMSE Hall of Fame program cover

IMSE Hall of Fame Inducts New Members

Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering (IMSE) held its annual IMSE Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony virtually on Friday, Oct. 23. Five new inductees were enshrined into its hall of fame, which was established in 2008.

Portrait of Yuwen Zhang

Zhang Named Curators’ Distinguished Professor

Yuwen Zhang, professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering, was recently named a University of Missouri Curators’ Distinguished Professor. The University of Missouri Board of Curators unanimously approved this designation on Sept. 24, 2020.

Portrait of Sabreena Anowar

Anowar Honored with Powe Award

Sabreena Anowar, assistant professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering and the Department of Architectural Studies at MU, won a 2020 Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award from the Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU).

Craig Kluever

Kluever Named Kemper Fellow

Craig Kluever, professor and director of undergraduate studies for the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (MAE), was awarded a 2020 William T. Kemper Fellowship for Teaching Excellence.

MU NSBE chapter

NSBE Honored with Coretta Scott King Organization of the Year Award

MU’s chapter of the National Society of Black Engineers won its first Coretta Scott King Organization of the Year Award at the MU NAACP Image Awards.


Banquet Celebrates Excellence

Mizzou Engineering’s Office of Diversity and Outreach Initiatives (DOI) and the MU Center for Academic Excellence and Success hosted the third-annual Pursuit of Excellence (POE) Banquet Dec. 3. This banquet celebrates outstanding students, faculty and staff from Mizzou Engineering and offers an opportunity to inspire and congratulate members of the engineering community.