faculty appointments


Roseanna N. Zia named associate dean for research at Mizzou Engineering

Dr. Roseanna N. Zia, who has been on faculty at both Stanford University and Cornell University, has been named Associate Dean for Research and Dave Wollersheim Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at Mizzou. Her appointment will be effective January 1, 2023, at which time she will bring to Mizzou Engineering her research in computational…


Directors appointed to lead new IT program labs

Mizzou Engineering has created two new labs within the Information Technology Program designed to give students additional hands-on research opportunities.


Ma Named MAE Chair

Professor Hongbin “Bill” Ma has been named chair of the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (MAE) by College of Engineering Interim Dean Noah Manring. Ma started his appointment Jan. 1.


Fales, Guidoboni Named Associate Deans

Mizzou Engineering has two new associate deans committed to student success and research excellence. Interim Dean Noah Manring named Roger Fales associate dean of student services & academic programs and Giovanna Guidoboni associate dean for research.

Brian Maurer portrait

Maurer Named Director of Information Technology Program

Brian Maurer has been named Director for the Information Technology (IT) Program at Mizzou Engineering. His duties as director began Jan 1, 2021.

Portrait of Jim Noble

Noble Selected Chair for Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering

Professor James Noble has been named chair for the Department of Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering (IMSE). His duties as chair began Oct. 1, 2020, although he had served as interim chair since March 2020.

Portrait of Kevin Gillis

Gillis Named Chair of Biomedical, Biological and Chemical Engineering

Professor Kevin Gillis was named department chair for Biomedical, Biological and Chemical Engineering (BBCE) at the College of Engineering by Interim Dean Noah Manring. His role as department chair began Oct. 1, 2020. Gillis served as the department’s interim chair for about a year prior to being named chair.

Portrait of Praveen Edara

Edara Named Department Chair of Civil and Environmental Engineering

A familiar name will become the permanent chair of the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE), effective September 1 – current interim chair Praveen Edara.

Oliver Giraldo-Londoño

Giraldo-Londoño Named Inaugural James W. and Joan M. O’Neill Faculty Scholar in Engineering

Oliver Giraldo-Londoño has been selected as the College of Engineering’s inaugural James W. and Joan M. O’Neill Faculty Scholar in Engineering. Giraldo-Londoño currently is a PhD candidate at the Georgia Institute of Technology and expects to complete his degree this fall. He received a bachelor’s in civil engineering in 2010 from Universidad Nacional de Colombia, Sede Medellin, and his master’s in structural engineering in 2014 from Ohio University in Athens, Ohio.