Faculty honors


UM Curators name Hongbin ‘Bill’ Ma Curators’ Distinguished Professor

Mizzou Engineering’s Hongbin “Bill” Ma has been named a Curators’ Distinguished Professor, the highest honor bestowed by the University of Missouri System. “I’m so honored,” Ma said. “This is certainly a highlight of my career at Mizzou, and I appreciate my colleagues and students who have supported me…

Chip Gubera

Gubera honored with MU Connect Champions Award

Christopher “Chip” Gubera, associate professional practice professor and director of undergraduate studies in the IT Program, has been selected to receive a 2022 MU Connect Champions Award. from the MU Office of Undergraduate Studies. MU Connect brings together students, faculty and staff to best support students. The 2022 MU…


Guidoboni elected a member of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts

Giovanna Guidoboni has been elected a member of the prestigious European Academy of Sciences and Arts, comprised of eminent scientists and scholars. Guidoboni is Associate Dean of Research for Mizzou Engineering and a Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science with a joint appointment in Mathematics at the College of Arts and Science. “I’m honored…

Portrait: Grant Scott

Mizzou Engineer Among Top Data Leaders of 2021

A Mizzou Engineer is one of the top academic data leaders in the world, according to Chief Data Officer (CDO) Magazine. The magazine named Assistant Professor Grant Scott to its inaugural list of “Leading Academic Data Leaders” for 2021.

Portrait: Matthias Young

Young Honored with Top Investigator Award

Matthias Young, assistant professor in biomedical, biological and chemical engineering, received the prestigious 2020 Paul H. Holloway Young Investigator Award from the American Vacuum Society (AVS) Thin Film Division.


Ma Elected National Academy of Inventors Fellow

Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Professor Hongbin “Bill” Ma was elected to the level of Fellow by the National Academy of Inventors (NAI). This is the top professional designation for academic inventors worldwide. “I am very excited about being named a Fellow,”…

Portrait of Sabreena Anowar

Anowar Honored with Powe Award

Sabreena Anowar, assistant professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering and the Department of Architectural Studies at MU, won a 2020 Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award from the Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU).

Portrait of Chanwoo Park

Park Elected to Fellow in ASME

Chanwoo Park, associate professor and director of the Heat Transfer/Sustainable Energy Laboratory in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (MAE), was elected to the grade of “Fellow” in the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME).